Rush


rush_ver4_xlg

A re-creation of the merciless 1970s rivalry between Formula One rivals James Hunt and Niki Lauda.

__________

Director: Ron Howard

Writer[s]: Peter Morgan

Starring: Chris Hemsworth, Daniel Bruhl, Olivia Wilde, Alexandra Maria Lara, Pierfrancesco Favino, Christian McKay

__________

I’ll be honest: I have never watched a formula ‘x’ race in my entire life, and I know nothing of the story taking place in Rush. But that did not stop me from appreciating the film and the story of a competitive rivalry, for that is a commonality throughout all sports and competitions, and they are ripe for storytelling.

The two things that set this film apart from other biographies I have seen are the two-main character storyline, and the remarkable accuracy of the casting and make-up. Take a look at the similarities between the actors and their real-life partners:

And here [link] is a video of James Hunt being interviewed, and you can see how closely Chris Hemsworth resembles him.

Similar to Warrior, the film follows two characters equally [or close enough]. In typical American fashion, I thought the big name actor playing the muscular, blonde, attractive character would be our guy. While you are free to root for whoever you’d like, there is no denying that the real intrigue lies within Niki Lauda’s story, partly due to the best performance in the film from Daniel Bruhl. Both racers are cast-aways from otherwise business-savy professional families, and both have an extreme desire to win, but here is where there similarities grow thin. James Hunt is a drug user in his free time, where as Lauda is a career devotee, and more of a recluse.

The film has an interesting look about it, with its own style of cinematography and editing, especially in the racing scenes, and even has its own instagram-like lighting to bring more of an era-appropriate look to it without being cheesy or anything.

When the ending credits roll, although I can’t really nit-pick anything negative from my experience, I wasn’t left feeling like I have just watched an Oscar winner, an instant classic, or even a film I will buy on DVD/Blu-Ray or have the desire to watch again. It is a well-made film and a fresh, unique story, but it doesn’t blow me away or make big impressions. It is, however, definitely worth a recommendation and at least one viewing.

My Rating

3/4 – While I can’t really give any negative remarks after watching, Rush doesn’t make any big, lasting impressions. It is, however, definitely worth at least one viewing.

Leave a Reply

