The Man with the Iron Fists


man_with_the_iron_fists

On the hunt for a fabled treasure of gold, a band of warriors, assassins, and a rogue British soldier descend upon a village in feudal China, where a humble blacksmith looks to defend himself and his fellow villagers.

The Man with the Iron Fists looks to me like a passion project from writers RZA and Eli Roth. According to IMDb.com, RZA and Roth worked on the screenplay together over two years, talking through every aspect of the story, down to the detail of every weapon, and the first cut of the film was four hours long. RZA suggested splitting it into two films, but producer Roth disagreed, and it was ultimately cut down to approximately 90 minutes. Usually projects like this are sound, fun films, and with the cast members that RZA and Roth got to lead the movie, I was hoping for some real entertainment, but what I got was the exact opposite.

Just a few minutes of this movie will show you the quality of the film from an acting, choreography, dialogue, and directing viewpoint. The quality of almost every technical aspect, including make-up and costumes, is clearly poorly done. The acting was atrocious, the action was boring and not smooth in it’s presentation, and the music placement was just senseless. After 20 minutes I had to tell myself to give this movie a full viewing, just once, before I condemned it to my “never watch again” list. I did eventually get through the entire movie, hoping for a change of pace, direction, or quality, but ultimately I was let down.

There were a few moments that achieved an average cinematic experience, and I enjoyed some of the hip-hop soundtrack placements, but I hated about 98% of everything in this film. I am a big fan of martial arts action movies, and this was easily the worst I have ever seen that was at least trying to be successful with a good budget and good cast.

The question I ask myself with such poor films as this is: Do I think that the average movie viewer will find this film entertaining in any way? I can confidently say ‘No’.

My Rating

0/4 – RZA’s passion project may hold some value to himself and co-writer Eli Roth, but it holds no entertainment value for the viewer as the film suffers from poor production quality in every position.

Leave a Reply

