Spotlight! Wes Anderson


Wes Anderson’s new film ‘Moonrise Kingdom’ comes to limited theaters on May 25th.

In most every form of art and creative production, you’ll find artists that have one specific style that they will stick to for every piece they do. In movie production, you have people like Michael Cera, who are typecast into playing the same style role in virtually every movie. But being an actor with the same style is much different than someone like a director or writer, who has full control over everything that happens in their films. Writer/director Wes Anderson has never strayed from his trademark style of wide angle anamorphic lens shots, hand-held pans in the middle of dialogue, Mark Mothersbaugh compositions and The Rolling Stones-like soundtracks, ‘Futura Bold’ typefont, big quirky families as the base of the story, and his casting of Bill Murray, Owen and Luke Wilson,  and Jason Schwartzman. These are all things that I have come to love and expect in his movies, and it is a real joy to sit through every one and be able to identify his unique and specific style of film making. If you were to ask me right now who my favorite film maker is, it would probably be Anderson.

Wes Anerson

IMDb

RottenTomatoes

Wikipedia

Anderson has written and directed six movies so far in his career:

Bottle Rocket

Focusing on a trio of friends and their elaborate plan to pull off a simple robbery and go on the run.

Rushmore

The king of Rushmore prep school is put on academic probation.

The Royal Tennenbaums

An estranged family of former child prodigies reunites when one of their member announces he has a terminal illness.

The Life Aquatic with Steve Zissou

With a plan to exact revenge on a mythical shark that killed his partner, oceanographer Steve Zissou rallies a crew that includes his estranged wife, a journalist, and a man who may or may not be his son.

The Darjeeling Limited

One year after their father’s funeral, three brothers travel across India by train in an attempt to bond with one another.

Fantastic Mr. Fox

An urbane fox cannot resist returning to his farm raiding ways and then must help his community survive the farmers’ retaliation.

All of these movies are hilarious, and end up being really strangely and awkwardly touching and moving. Anderson has an interesting habit of putting dramatic weight on some less than standard dialogue and a surprisingly low amount of weight on things like deaths. I really love it.

I don’t think I will ever be able to pick out one of these films and call it my favorite. It will probably just be whatever I saw last. That is how much I enjoy his style. He is not someone who had one movie that I absolutely loved, so I saw all of his other work and thought they were pretty good as well. I saw The Royal Tenenbaums about five years ago, and then I watched all of Anderson’s other films because I enjoyed Tenenbaums so much, and I found that all of his other films were just as good. This is something really rare, and something that has never happened for me personally.

I hope if you find the time, you will watch one of the previous films and find as much pleasure in watching it as I do. If you find yourself having similar tastes to me with my other reviews, I think these films will be right up your alley.

 _____________________________

To prepare for Wes Anderson’s new film Moonrise Kingdom, which has a limited release on May 25th, I am going to be reviewing each of Anderson’s six previous films. Hopefully I will be able to head into Chicago to be able to see Moonrise Kingdom in it’s limited release and be able to review that film as well. Here’s to the best movie reviewing week I’ll ever have!

One thought on “Spotlight! Wes Anderson

Leave a Reply

