The Grey


After their plane crashes in Alaska, seven oil workers are led by a skilled huntsman to survival, but a pack of merciless wolves haunts their every step.

IMDb

RottenTomatoes

Writer/director Joe Carnahan [A-Team, Smokin’ Aces] brings us another installment of Liam Neeson‘s being a badass that takes shit from nobody movies. In this particular Jack London styled film, Neeson [Schindler’s List, Taken] plays Ottway, a very skilled hunter who is accompanying some oil workers to a job in Alaska. Unfortunately, their plane doesn’t make it, as it crashes trying to get though a winter storm. Since Neeson doesn’t take shit from anybody, including physics, he winds up unharmed as has to try to lead the other survivors to safety.

If you couldn’t really tell, I am not really partial to Neeson’s recent work in movies. He reminds me a bit of Sylvestor Stallone, and older guy that I don’t really think should be doing revenge thrillers. But unlike Stallone, Neeson’s movies recently have actually been decent. It was hard for me to actually want to download this and watch it, but I’m glad I did.

I don’t think I’ve ever seen wolves as frightening, but the ones in this movie are freaking insane. They are huge, and just kill anything around them. It’s almost monster movie status. That was another questionable aspect of the movie for me, how Neeson would look badass only fighting against wolves. But halfway through this movie, I wouldn’t think anything would stop these things.

After watching it all the way through, it almost is like a monster movie. A lot of suspenseful, seat jumping scenes. And like those other scary movies, there is the one guy that doesn’t want to listen and harms the group with most every second he is still alive. It’s good to have someone to hate, I think. Makes the movie more interesting.

On that note, there isn’t really anyone you care about. You don’t really learn these guys’ names, and no one but Neeson’s character is ever shown in a different light or in any depth. You learn that Ottway has a girl that he loves, but they are not together anymore. The movie uses some cool dream sequence transitions with Ottway and this woman lying in their bed, then he is pulled back into reality.

The movie didn’t thrill or excite me, but despite those being the usual labels, I don’t think that is what this movie was meant to be. The ending is surprising, and really well done. It’s moving, touching. It connects and collects the morals and themes of the film in a beautiful way. I think I was going to give this movie a mediocre two, but the ending really made me realize what the movie was really showing.

There is a scene after the credits, and apparently it is really important, or something of the like. Unfortunately, my version cuts out right as that scene starts. So, make sure to watch for that!

My Rating

 3/4 – The Grey is another Liam Neeson action thriller where he takes no shit from nobody. The movie plays out pretty much exactly how you think it would, but then you get to the ending, and you realize that this movie is in fact pretty good.

Leave a Reply

