Countdown to the Oscars! Day 7 – Best Picture


Best Motion Picture of the Year Nominees:

  • The Artist (2011): Thomas Langmann
  • The Descendants (2011): Jim Burke, Alexander Payne, Jim Taylor
  • Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close (2011): Scott Rudin
  • The Help (2011): Brunson Green, Chris Columbus, Michael Barnathan
  • Hugo (2011/II): Graham King, Martin Scorsese
  • Midnight in Paris (2011): Letty Aronson, Stephen Tenenbaum
  • Moneyball (2011): Michael De Luca, Rachael Horovitz, Brad Pitt
  • The Tree of Life (2011): Nominees to be determined
  • War Horse (2011): Steven Spielberg, Kathleen Kennedy

Who I think will win: The Artist

Who I liked the most: The Tree of Life [Midnight in Paris, The Artist]

Despite a horrible year for hollywood financially, 2011 produced some astounding films. I didn’t get to see War Horse or Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close, but those are at the bottom of the pool for this category, so I’ve seen the best of the best, and really enjoyed all of them.

The Artist is going to win this award. The movie itself is really damn good, but I think it’s the the silent/black and white factors that have pushed this movie to the top of everyone’s list. The movie is made so well, and the performances blend wonderfully with it.

The Tree of Life was my favorite movie this year, and in many ways, my favorite movie of all time. I love the simple things in movies, the Terrence Mallick really focuses on these things: the cinemetography and the slow, long shots of trees and rivers and people walking; the audio, the face that you can hear all the little sounds that people make when doing everyday activities. I’m also big into space and science, so the out-of-nowhere images of the creation of the universe, or whatever that was, was awesome for me, and the images were gorgeous. The classical music choices were great, the performances were great, I dont know if there is anything that I didn’t love in this movie.

Midnight in Paris was my second favorite movie of the year, and makes me seriously wonder why I haven’t seen more of Woody Allen’s movies. This movie was just delightful. The characters in this film were probably my favorite of any movie. I want them so much to succeed, to find love, or to just go away forever. It was also hilarious through it’s characters and in classic Woody Allen humor. It would probbaly be my most recommended movie of the year, as Tree of Life is a pretty specific movie.

Leave a Reply

