Countdown to the Oscars! Day 5 – Original Screenplay


Best Writing, Screenplay Written Directly for the Screen
Nominees:

Who I think will win: Woody Allen

Who I liked the most: Woody Allen

It is not really any surprise here that Woody Allen is nominated and favored by most everyone for best original screenplay award. He is the most nominated for this category in the history of the awards with 15. He is also my favorite this year. Midnight in Paris was so, so good. It is going to be really hard for me not to pick it for best picture as well, and I might even end up deciding that it is when the time comes. It is really funny in the classic Woody Allen fashion, it’s as charming as the city of Paris, and I think my favorite part were the characters and dialouge. I felt so strongly about every character in that movie, more so than any other movie in memory. An instant classic for me.

Asghar Farhadi has gotten a lot of praise for his film A Seperation as well, with a large group saying it should have gotten a best picture nomination, and the whole world knows it will win best foreign film.

Michel Hazanavicius’s The Artist was the best movie of the year, but it was more than just the writing that contributed to that, despite the writing still being really good. It probably isn’t as hard to write a good film, however, when there is no dialogue.

Bridesmaids was raunchy and hilarious and really fun, but the general writing was pretty generic in my mind. Still really fun, though. And I didn’t see Margin Call.

Leave a Reply

