Super


After his wife falls under the influence of a drug dealer, an everyday guy transforms himself into Crimson Bolt, a superhero with the best intentions, though he lacks for heroic skills.

Rainn Wilson has interested me for a while with his great work on the show The Office, and I’ve hoped to see him get something like this role, an indie drama, for quite some time. It was just a matter of time before I was able to get hold of a version for myself to watch.

I thought that I knew what to expect from the trailers and here-and-there comments on the movie, and I sort of did, but this movie really did take me by surprise. It is labeled as a comedy, along with action and drama, but if anything, it is a dark comedy, a little too dark for my liking. Hitting people in the head with a wrench and fracturing their skull for butting in line at a movie may make some people laugh, but seeing it happen in this movie was not enjoyable for me. Not only is the comedy of a dark variety, but the rest of the movie, mostly the ending in particular, is just as dark. I really didn’t like how messed up some of the things in this movie were, even though I knew to expect some of it. It was also based a lot on God, which wasn’t bad in anyway, just surprising and sort of misplaced.

Wilson does give a good performance, and Ellen Page does what she needs to, but production-wise there isn’t really anything special about this movie, and the thrown in 2D comic book animation stylings are pointless and not even well done. The story and the idea of the movie are unfortunately timed, coming shortly after Kick-Ass, although completely different in the details, they are the same general idea.

The sole thing that I actually did like was the ending message of the movie. I thought it was a good one to give, and one that isn’t very-often given in this self-centered thematic era of ours.

My Rating:

  1.5/4.0 – Despite a meaningful ending message and decent performances, Super puts a dark twist on the average-Joe superhero, but in a senseless and overpowering fashion.

IMDb

RottenTomatoes

Leave a Reply

