The Hangover: Part II


Right after the bachelor party in Las Vegas, Phil, Stu, Alan, and Doug jet to Thailand for Stu’s wedding. Stu’s plan for a subdued pre-wedding brunch, however, goes seriously awry.

I’ll start this review again with a rant on the current state of movies. Next time a movie that I want to see comes out, I am going to see it early in the day on a weekday. I thought it was just when I was younger that I noticed ass bags in the theater, but, as it turns out, older people, in their 20’s, are actually worse. Drunken people everywhere, yelling incoherent jibber jabber, and laughing at everything that ever happens. I probably missed out at least 10% of the dialogue of the movie from all of their noise alone. I thought human kind’s average intelligence was low before, but my word, this was not pleasant.

The other thing that wasn’t very pleasant was the movie itself. This is probably the most unoriginal movie that I have ever seen in my entire life. As you can tell by the trailer, the formula and script and screenplay are all drawn up in LITERALLY the exact same way. I can sort of say that I can see where the writers were trying to go with it, but they absolutely failed. I knew exactly what was going to happen at all times, nothing surprised me, and to be honest, the increase in sexual “humor” was disgusting and shameful.

The performances were mediocre, since all the actors had to do was exactly what they did in the last movie. Ed Helms was way over-done with his wimpy guy attitude, and Bradley Cooper looked like he wanted to be acting in a real movie elsewhere the entirety. The new cast in this movie actually did even less of a good job, bringing nothing at all to the movie from the only differences, the less-important characters.

This is a good example of the way sequels and movies are being done in this Avatar age. People just want to make money, and that was clearly the point of this film. The sad thing is that it worked, and will probably work for a long time to come (refer to my showing the low intelligence of our race). They could (and probably did) write this movie in 6 minutes. I would bet money that another one is going to be made.

All that being said, I can’t deny my having laughed a few times. Probably like twice. So I guess they got to me a little bit. Zach Galifianakis has some decent one-liners.

My Rating

The Hangover: Part II brings The Hangover back to screen, and charges you to see it again. But this time, I guess there’s a monkey instead of a lion. This movie gets and old, dried out, smelly rotten tomato. Feel free to watch it on television in a year if you are falling asleep and delirious, but other than that, I wouldn’t waste my time.

IMDb – 30%

RT – 30%

5 thoughts on “The Hangover: Part II

  1. I’ve been saying that about movies since Step Brothers came out. Movies are full of dumb humor to make idiots laugh and producers money.

  2. I think it is mostly just sequels that are guilty of this, although I’m sure there are exceptions. If you think about it, what the hell else are sequels meant for?

  3. As I thought it would be. Hangover was funny, but having the sequel follow the same formula as the first one wasn’t/isn’t a good idea period. I was turned off when they announced it.

  4. Sequels can be a continuation of a good story. For example, Star Wars. Sure, the same characters and everything, but the story was unique each time. Actors playing the same type of rolls in movies with the same type of humor over and over again might as well be sequels to each other, aka. Will Ferrell. Just saying.

  5. Well, Star Wars was a series, different than sequels. There were supposed to be more than one from the start, and they actually planned to make more than 6. But movies like this, and like, the Die Hard movies. They are pointless additions to stories that are usually not that great in the first place, nor do they need further development.

    But similar comedic styles like Will Ferrell’s recent movies are a different story. I actually like most of the stuff Ferrell has done, at least when he is given a character with any sort of depth, like The Other Guys.

Leave a Reply

