happythankyoumoreplease


Six New Yorkers juggle love, friendship, and the keenly challenging specter of adulthood. Sam Wexler is a struggling writer who’s having a particularly bad day. When a young boy gets separated from his family on the subway, Sam makes the questionable decision to bring the child back to his apartment and thus begins a rewarding, yet complicated, friendship. Sam’s life revolves around his friends-Annie, whose self-image keeps her from commitment; Charlie and Mary Catherine, a couple whose possible move to Los Angeles tests their relationship; and Mississippi, a cabaret singer who catches Sam’s eye.Written by Sundance Film Festival

Sundance award winners always attract my attention. This winner of the Audience Award [and Grand Jury nomination] also captured my eye when I saw the cast. Josh Radnor [How I Met Your Mother] was the writer, director, and star of the film. Coming fresh off of another good viewing of a film written, directed, and starring a famous television personality [Garden State], I was excited to give this movie a chance.

While then style of the movie, a multi-point-of-view love story, has had zero success in my viewings in pretty much all of time, I thought this movie was pretty enjoyable. The cast of many recognizable faces, and newcomer Michael Algieri, did a great job carrying the story, which was pretty good in itself. Malin Akerman was terrific, and I thought Radnor did a great job as well. The others were no slouches, but I liked those two the best, hands down; other than the adorable kid, buts lets be honest, he said like 10 words in the movie.

Another thing I really liked in the movie was the several extreme close-ups during some of the conversations. Something about it just really caught my eye. Not something I see a lot in movies, and it was nice. The music used in the film was pretty typical Sundance-esque style, but it filled its role nicely. The setting felt really Woody Allen-like, with its stress on New York and its live-ability. I’m not sure if I’d live there, but these people seemed pretty happy about it.

My Rating [See it, Rent it, Skip it]

Rent it. A very pick-me-up, joyful film that has a story that is easy to relate to and great to take away from. Nothing really incredible to draw you to a theater, but a great pick-up for movie night.

Leave a Reply

