Somewhere


Finally, the time has come for another movie written, directed, and produced by Sofia Coppola. The first second that I finished watching Lost in Translation, I bookmarked her name and promised to see the next movie, if not all of the rest of the future movies, that she created. Lost in Translation is still to this day in my top 5, if not my favorite movie of all time.
Somewhere tells the story of. . . “Hollywood actor Johnny Marco, nested in his luxury hotel of choice, is a stimulated man. Drinking, parties and women keep a creeping boredom under wraps in between jobs. He is the occasional father of a bright girl, Cleo, who may be spoiled but doesn’t act it. When Cleo’s mother drops her off and leaves town, Johnny brings her along for the ride, but can he fit an 11-year-old girl into his privileged lifestyle?” [Written by Peter Brandt Nielsen]

The first thing that I want to talk about with this movie is the editing. I think this movie takes the cake for the “fewest cuts in a movie” award for 2010. It would probably also win the “least camera movement” award. Sofia Coppola really took simplicity to a whole new level in this movie.
The use of the soundtrack is also something completely new, at least for me. There are only 2 songs played alongside this movie throughout. For the rest of the movie, all you hear is what is happening. The prevalence of long, quiet scenes of the main character just sitting or driving around really does a lot for character development. Overall one of the quietest movies I have ever heard, but that is something I have never really seen, and I was loving it.
I don’t know if anyone has ever given a more humanistic feel of reality to a movie. I would believe that this is a true story, almost a documentary, with how few of cuts and the audio selection. It was a really great experience watching and listening to this movie.
The acting in this movie, which was pretty much a one man show, was very, very solid. Stephen Dorff, although not having to say much due to the nature of his character, was great. I hope he gets much respect for this role. This was the first time that I saw Elle Fanning, and she was good too. I don’t know if she will reach her sister’s success, but I like what I see in her from this film. There aren’t too many other main characters, but these two hold it down pretty damn well.
Just like Lost in Translation, this movie gives an in depth perspective at a less than common relationship. Two people that find a strong bond from what they wouldn’t have expected to be any type of bond. The ending of this movie really showed a lot about the power of such a relationship, and I loved every single part of the ending.
It was a little hard to try and put things together, like what the characters were thinking, due to the silence and some repetition of scenes, and it feels almost like we needed something more.
I actually managed to get through all of this writing so far without using the word “beautiful”, which while watching the movie I thought would be said with every other sentence. I think a lot of people, especially ones my age, will write this movie off as boring, as the plot is kind of not there, and the editing is slow, but I really felt like I could connect to the story and its characters, despite my not having anything in common with them, really.
My Rating [See it, Rent it, Skip it]

See it. I am not sure when this movie comes out on DVD, as I don’t believe it will be playing in theaters anywhere again, but I would hope people get this the day it comes out. A different take on the world and lives of Hollywood and the paparazzi. Sofia Coppola has done it for me again, and I think this movie deserves a spot in my top movies.
Leave a Reply

