Greenberg


Finally, we get to see Ben Stiller play a character that has a little depth and substance. Well, sort of.

In Greenberg, a New Yorker moves to Los Angeles in order to figure out his life while he housesits for his brother, and he soon sparks with his brother’s assistant.

This movie seems to want to tell a simple story focused on dialog and the relationships of the characters. The camera-work is simple and basic, the screenplay isn’t complicated, and the music fits the style pretty well. I think that they got the style that they were looking for in this movie, but it was all in vain.

Greenberg is just too bland for me. The characters aren’t very interesting, despite one of them [Stiller] supposed to be pretty messed up and intriguing, which he isn’t. I don’t really know what else to say, other than I could assume [most of the time correctly] what would happen in the movie, and the “artsy” aim of the film wasn’t appealing to me. At all.

There was a lot of potential in this movie and in the cast, I thought, but the plot seems to lack, well, a plot. It just gets boring at times.

Maybe I just don’t “get” this movie. Many people have really enjoyed the film, and think very highly of it in their own review. I’m not one of these people.

My Rating [See it, Rent it, Skip it]

Despite the new role for Stiller, which I was excited to see, I am giving this a Skip it.

Leave a Reply

